UH women's sand volleyball readies for national championship - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

UH women's sand volleyball readies for national championship

HONOLULU(HawaiiNewsNow)- A pair of duos from the University of Hawai'i women's sand volleyball team make their way to Gulf Shores, Ala., and the AVCA Collegiate Sand Volleyball National Championship, April 27-29. The tandems of Jane Croson-Ashley Lee and Emily Hartong- Elizabeth Stoltzman will be among the 16 squads vying for the inaugural pairs championship.
The pairs championship will consist of sixteen doubles teams engaged in pool play on Friday, April 27  beginning at 11 a.m.  CT.  The results of that play will determine the seeding of the 16 pairs into a single elimination tournament on Sunday, April 29.  First round matches will start at 8 a.m., with quarterfinals scheduled for 9 a.m.  Both semi-finals and the championship match will be held on center court, beginning at 11 a.m.
The pairs competition includes doubles team from USC, Hawai'i, Florida Atlantic, UAB, North Florida and Stetson University, as well as the number one and two duos from the schools in the team championship.  The team championship will be held on Saturday, April 28 with Pepperdine, Florida State University, Long Beach State and College of Charleston competing.
Teams and pairs were selected based on results from the first collegiate season of competition which began in March. Hartong and Stoltzman went an impressive 21-7 during the regular season, which included results from dual matches and tournaments. The pair captured two championships held at Queen's Beach this year—both of which were 16-team brackets.
Croson and Lee, meanwhile, went 17-5 on the year while playing the majority of their matches at the No. 1 flight during dual matches. The highlight of the season so far came when they captured the gold division of the North Florida Tournament, emerging from a total of 35 pairs. Croson and Lee took down Florida State's top duo of Aurora Newgard and Brittany Tiegs for that title and will meet again this week at the nationals as the teams are slotted together in pool play.
CBS Sports Network will televise portions of the competition in two hour-long specials. Part 1 of their coverage will air beginning on Wednesday, June 6 at 9 p.m. EST and Part 2 will begin airing on Wednesday, June 13, also at 9 p.m. EST.
2012 AVCA Sand Volleyball National Championship
April 27-29 | Gulf Shores, Ala.
Pool Designations
Pool 1
Aurora Newgard-Brittany Tiegs (Florida State)
Jane Croson-Ashley Lee– (Hawai'i)
Haleigh Hampton-Libby Fontanilla (Long Beach State)
Emily Shelton-Kelly Kolich (College of Charleston)
Pool 2
Caitlin Racich-Summer Ross (Pepperdine)
Kirby Burnham-Kelly Irvin (USC)
Joanne Tate-Alessia Pizzocheri (Florida Atlantic)
Gallhager/Thomas (UAB)
Pool 3
Caitlin Ledoux-Tara Roenicke (Long Beach State)
Lilla Frederick-Kim Hill (Pepperdine)
Elyse Chubb-Lizzie Theesfeld (College of Charleston)
Kaley Melville-Julie Bassett (Stetson)
Pool 4
Sara Shaw-Geena Urango (USC)
Jace Pardon-Jekaterina Stepanova (Florida State)
Elizabeth Stoltzman-Emily Hartong (Hawai'i)
Dagnija Medina-Emily Strack (North Florida)

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly