28 Hawaii post offices offering late collections for Tax Day

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Twenty-eight post offices across the state are offering late collection of mail from specially marked collection boxes on federal Tax Day, Tuesday, Apr. 17, to accommodate last-second filers of federal tax returns.

Taxpayers have until Apr. 17 to file their 2011 returns and pay any taxes due because Apr. 15 falls on a Sunday and Emancipation Day, a holiday in the District of Columbia, is observed this year on Monday, April 16.

This year, the Honolulu's Airport (Main) Post Office is opening an express line, at the side will call window, for simple Tax Day transactions such as purchasing stamps and Certified Mail services. The express line will be open from noon to 8 p.m. on Tax Day only.

All Post Offices will be closing at their regular times. The Airport Post Office in Honolulu will be the last to close-at 8 p.m.--on that night and will be the best bet for last-second customers who need to purchase stamps or special services.

The 28 Post Offices listed below will have collection boxes and/or lobby drop slots labeled with special bright orange signs indicating Tax Mail Drop - Final Pick-Up Midnight. Tax forms with correct postage deposited in those specially designated boxes and slots by midnight will receive Apr. 17 postmarks. Collection boxes and Post Office lobby drops at all other Post Offices will be collected only at their regular posted times on April 17.

The 28 Post Offices offering late collections include:

  • Oahu Airport (Main) Post Office
  • Downtown Post Office
  • Ewa Beach Post Office
  • Haleiwa Post Office
  • Hawaii Kai Post Office
  • Kailua Post Office
  • Kaneohe Post Office
  • Kapalama Post Office
  • Laie Post Office
  • Makiki Post Office
  • Mililani Post Office
  • Pearl City Post Office
  • Waialae Kahala Post Office Waianae Post Office
  • Waikiki Post Office Waipahu Post Office
  • Maui Kahului Post Office Kihei Post Office
  • Lahaina (Main) Post Office
  • Makawao Post Office
  • Pukalani Post Office
  • Wailuku Post Office
  • Hawaii Hilo (Airport) Post Office
  • Kailua-Kona Post Office
  • Kamuela Post Office
  • Kauai Lihue Main Post Office
  • Molokai Kaunakakai Post Office
  • Lanai Lanai City Post Office

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.