Judge David Ezra to retire in June

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Senator Daniel Inouye's office announced Monday that U.S. District Judge David Ezra will retire at end of June.

Senator Inouye and Senator Daniel Akaka on Tuesday will establish a nine-member Commission to help make recommendations of qualified applicants.

"Judge Ezra has done a fine job on the federal bench over the past 24 years.  He has served with integrity, and has thoughtfully interpreted and upheld the rule of law.  His leadership will be missed," said Senator Akaka.

Attorney Larry Okinaga will be chairman of the commission.  The other eight members are as follows:

  • Ms. Bennette Misalucha Evangelista
  • Ms. Lynn Fallin
  • Mr. Allen Hoe
  • Mr. Donavan Kealoha
  • Ms. Janice Kim
  • Retired Judge Marie Milks
  • Mr. Jeff Sia
  • Mr. Tony Takitani

"The purpose of the Commission is to help ensure a strong, independent, and qualified federal judiciary, and to provide a fair process for selecting nominees with the highest professional qualifications and attributes," stated Senator Inouye.

Senator Akaka and Inouye will forward their recommendations to the White House. All federal judges are appointed by the president. Judgeships have to be confirmed by the United States Senate.

Nomination and application forms will be available within the next week on the websites of Senator Inouye, Senator Akaka and the Hawaii State Bar Association, or by writing to the Commission at the address below.

All names and completed application forms submitted to the Commission will be kept confidential by the Commission and must be delivered or mailed to the following address no later than Monday, April 2, 2012.

Hawaii Federal Judicial Selection Commission
Suite 2100, ASB Tower
1001 Bishop Street
Honolulu, HI 96813

Ezra graduated from St. Louis High School, attended Chaminade College and the University of Hawaii. Ezra received a B.B.A. from St. Mary's University.

Ezra was nominated by President Ronald Reagan in 1987. Ezra was confirmed by the United States Senate on May 19, 1988, and received his commission on May 20, 1988.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.