3 National Blue Ribbon Schools named on Oahu

HONOLULU (AP) - The U.S. Department of Education has recognized three Oahu schools for maintaining high academic standards and making progress toward closing achievement gaps, especially among minority students.

King Liholiho Elementary, Koko Head Elementary and Waialua Elementary have been named 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

They are among 300 public and private schools nationwide to earn the distinction.

Hawaii's congressional delegation in Washington announced the recognition Thursday.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.