2011 NEA National Heritage Fellowship Recipient-Ledward Kaapana

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow)- A Hawaiian slack key guitarist, Mardi Gras Indian chief, and Taiko drum leaders are among this year's NEA National Heritage Fellowship recipients, announced today by National Endowment for the Arts Chairman Rocco Landesman. This award is the nation's highest honor in the folk and traditional arts and each of the nine recipients will receive a one-time award of $25,000. The NEA National Heritage Fellowships public programs are made possible with support from the Golden Corral Corporation.

With this class, the NEA is celebrating the 30th anniversary of the NEA National Heritage Fellowships, awards which recognize artists for their artistic excellence and efforts to conserve America's cultures for future generations. These nine recipients are masters of diverse traditional art forms including three art forms never before honored through the National Heritage Fellowships: Old Regular Baptist singing, Brazilian pandeiro (frame drum), and Bulgarian wedding music.

Copyright HawaiiNewsNow 2011 All Rights Reserved