Outstanding student athletes recognized at HMSA Kaimana Awards

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Dozens of Hawaii's finest scholar athletes and high schools were honored this weekend at the 2011 HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program ceremony.

Three student athletes received distinguished scholarships valued at $3,000 each, and 19 students received scholarships worth $2,000. Two of the winners appeared on Sunrise Monday morning.

Brittney Like of Kamehameha High School Kapalama was a member of the Warrior cheerleading, cross country, softball and paddling teams. She took second place in last year's state History Day competition for her presentation on the Mahele of 1848 and spearheaded a fundraising drive for a youth rehabilitation center. She plans to attend Azusa Pacific University and major in biology with a minor in mathematics. Her goal is to attend the John A. Burns School of Medicine at the University of Hawaii at Manoa and eventually become a pediatrician.

Adam Kostylo of Kaiser High School was a member of the Cougar basketball team. He was also senior class president, four-time winner of Kaiser's Outstanding Leader Award and made honor roll all four years. He won the viewers' choice award in the New School Video Contest, taught religious education at Holy Trinity Church and volunteered as a Big Brother. He plans to major in creative producing at Chapman University's Dodge College of Film and Media Arts.

Thirty high schools were also recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league and division in athletics, academics, sportsmanship, and community service. The 10 schools with the highest points received a check for $1,500.

The HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program began in August 2005, and recognizes all-around accomplishments by high schools, rewards individual student athletes with scholarships, and supports coaches' education. The program is administered by the Hawaii High School Athletic Association.

Copyright 2011 by Hawaii News Now. All Rights Reserved.

HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program

2011 Winning High Schools


  • 1st BIIF Division I Hilo High School
  • 2nd BIIF Division I Konawaena High School
  • 3rd BIIF Division I Keaau High School
  • 1st BIIF Division II Hualalai Academy
  • 2nd BIIF Division II Kamehameha Schools Hawaii
  • 3rd BIIF Division II Hawaii Preparatory Academy


  • 1st MIL Division I Kamehameha Schools Maui
  • 2nd MIL Division I Lahainaluna High School
  • 3rd MIL Division I Baldwin High School
  • 1st MIL Division II Seabury Hall
  • 2nd MIL Division II Maui Preparatory Academy
  • 3rd MIL Division II St. Anthony High School


  • 1st KIF Island School
  • 2nd KIF Kapaa High School
  • 3rd KIF Kauai High School


  • 1st OIA Red Mililani High School
  • 2nd OIA Red Kapolei High School
  • 3rd OIA Red Waipahu High School
  • 1st OIA Blue Anuenue School
  • 2nd OIA Blue Waialua High School
  • 3rd OIA Blue Kailua High School
  • 1st OIA White Kalani High School
  • 2nd OIA White Aiea High School
  • 3rd OIA White Pearl City High School


  • 1st ILH Division I Maryknoll School
  • 2nd ILH Division I Mid-Pacific Institute
  • 3rd ILH Division I Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • 1st ILH Division II Hawaii Baptist Academy
  • 2nd ILH Division II La Pietra
  • 3rd ILH Division II University High School

2011 Student Scholarship Winners

Distinguished Scholarship Recipients:

  • Miracle Helekahi - Hana High and Elementary School
  • Kyle Nakatsuka - Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • Zachary Pezzillo - Seabury Hall

Big Island Interscholastic Federation (BIIF) Scholarship Recipients:

  • Jonathan Chow - Keaau High School
  • Melissa Plato - Kealakehe High School
  • Jordan Heres - Mauka Lani Christian School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu (ILH) Scholarship Recipients:

  • Kendal Kagawa - Maryknoll School
  • Brittney Like - Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • Rachel Roley - Mid-Pacific Institute
  • Katherine Lum - University Laboratory School
  • Kyle Nakatsuka - Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • Ryan Lau - Punahou School
  • Jordan Thibodeau - Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Kauai Interscholastic Federation (KIF) Scholarship Recipients:

  • Chas Okamoto - Kapaa High School
  • Kyle McDonald - Island School
  • Stephanie Steuri - Island School

Maui Interscholastic League (MIL) Scholarship Recipients:

  • Miracle Helekahi - Hana High and Elementary School
  • Chris Nunokawa - Kamehameha Schools Maui
  • Zachary Pezzillo - Seabury Hall

Oahu Interscholastic Association (OIA) Scholarship Recipients:

  • Uy-Di Nancy Le - Kalani High School
  • Fadi Youkhana - Roosevelt High School
  • Brendan Nakatani - Roosevelt High School
  • Stephanie Kalili - Nanakuli High and Intermediate School
  • Adam Kostylo - Kaiser High School
  • Daniella Reyes - Leilehua High School