First Wind awards scholarships to 6 Hawaii students - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

First Wind awards scholarships to 6 Hawaii students

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - First Wind announced the recipients of its Second Annual Scholars program on Tuesday.

The U.S.-based wind energy company awarded six Hawaii college-bound students each with a one-time $3,000 scholarship.

"In its second full year, we were very pleased to see the significant increase in applications from so many talented and bright high school students in the communities where we develop and operate wind projects," said Carol Grant, Senior Vice President of External Affairs for First Wind. "As we grow our development of clean, renewable energy projects across the Northeast, the West and Hawaii, we will continue to expand our scholarship program with the hope that students within our host communities take full advantage of it. For our 2011 recipients, we wish them all the best during their college careers and we are excited about their future contributions in the fields of environment, energy and the sciences."

This year's winners include:

  • Dane Oshiro of Kula, Maui High School
  • Stephen Adolfson of Lahaina, Lahainaluna High School
  • Kamie-Lei Fujiwara of Wailuku, Kamehameha Schools Maui
  • Kiana Wilson of Laie, Kahuku High School
  • Daniella Reyes of Mililani, Leilehua High School
  • Jeffrey Milhorn of Wahiawa, Leilehua High School

The program is designed to support local high school students who display strong potential for a successful college experience, as well as interest in the environment, energy or the sciences.

Fifteen students were selected nationwide based on academic performance, standardized test scores, community service activities and a 300-word essay.

Copyright 2011 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly