UH baseball team rallies to beat San Jose State

By Mike Cherry - bio | email

HONOLULU – The University of Hawai'i baseball team rallied from three runs down in the ninth inning to top San Jose State, 9-8. With the win, the Rainbows (30-21, 15-5) clinch a first round bye in the WAC Tournament held later this month.

The 'Bows trailed the Spartans (32-21, 10-10) 8-5 in the final inning with two outs and the bases empty. Then, after a hit batsman and a walk, Collin Bennett delivered an RBI-base hit to cut the lead to 8-6. The next three runs came on a throwing error by the Spartans, as Bennett, Zack Swasey (1-3, 2 R, 1 RBI), and Jeff Van Doornum all scored to give UH the 9-8 win. 

Bennett led the 'Bows batting 4-5 with two runs and one RBI, and Van Doornum added three hits, two runs, and one RBI.

Kerry Jenkins and Nick Borg each batted 2-5 with one run and one RBI to lead SJSU.

The Rainbows trailed early as San Jose State led 3-0 after two innings. A Breland Almadova (1 H, 2 R) run in the third inning cut the lead to 3-1, then Hawai'i took the lead with three fourth-inning runs. Bennett and Garrett Champion (1 H, 1 RBI) both doubled to help UH to the big inning. 

The 'Bows again found themselves trailing after SJSU plated one run in the eighth inning and added two more in the ninth. Jenkins hit an RBI-double to give his team an 8-5 lead before UH won the game in the bottom of the inning.

Alex Capaul (2-2) earned the win for the 'Bows with Roberto Padilla receiving the loss for San Jose State. 

After the game, seniors Alex Capaul, Jeff Van Doornum, Sean Montplaisir, Zach Gallagher, and Blair Walters were honored for their contribution to Rainbow baseball. 

There were 4,879 tickets issued for the contest, and a turnstile count of 3,697.

The Rainbows now travel to Las Cruces, New Mexico to play New Mexico State in their final WAC regular season games. First pitch of the four-game series with the Aggies is set for Thursday, May 19. The two teams will play a doubleheader starting at 3:05 p.m. Mountain Time.

Copyright Hawaii News Now 2011. All rights reserved.