WAC expansion announced Thursday

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - It's become official.

The Western Athletic Conference introduced three new member schools Thursday, two of which are not in the west, and one who will not participate in football.

The additions include the University of Texas at San Antonio, Texas State University, along with the University of Denver as a non-football member.

WAC commissioner Karl Benson released this statement:

"The addition of these three schools clearly sends a message that the WAC and its member schools are prepared to move forward to build a 'new' WAC. And as the WAC prepares to begin its next 50 years as an athletic conference, I am confident that these three new members along with the six other WAC schools will continue to compete at the highest level of the NCAA."

The expansion would reportedly happen in 2012.

Boise State is leaving for the Mountain West Conference after this school year, and Fresno State and Nevada will join the MWC in 2012.

The additions of Texas-San Antonio and Texas State will give the WAC eight football members in 2012.

Copyright 2010 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.