No WAC expansion before 2012

No WAC expansion before 2012
Karl Benson
Karl Benson

By Brooks Baehr - bio | email

DENVER (HawaiiNewsNow) - Eight is enough, at least for now.

The Western Athletic Conference issued a statement Tuesday saying the conference will not add any new members until the 2012-2013 season at the earliest.

"Over the past few weeks, the WAC's Board of Directors and athletics directors have explored several membership options," said WAC commissioner Karl Benson.

"We believe it is in the best interest of the WAC to operate as an eight-team league for the 2011-12 season. We will now take several months to 'drill down' on the various membership options before making any decisions that would impact the 2012-13 season."

Possible expansion became an issue when Boise State decided to leave the WAC and join the Mountain West Conference effective July, 2011.

This means that for the 2011-12 season, the WAC will operate as an eight-team league that consists of Fresno State, Hawai'i, Idaho, Louisiana Tech, Nevada, New Mexico State, San Jose State and Utah State.

"The WAC and its eight member schools remain well positioned for the future," said Benson.

"Throughout its history and since its inception in 1962, the WAC has operated very successfully as an 8-team, 9-team and 10-team league. Each of those models have their advantages and all will be looked at very closely. Also, a 12-team league that would allow the WAC to split into divisions and conduct a football championship game will be evaluated," Benson added.

"The future for the WAC is very bright, and we will continue to provide our student-athletes with the opportunities to compete on both the regional and national stages in all of our sports."

Copyright 2010 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.