Two Big Island teachers win Presidential Award

HONOLULU (AP) - Two Big Island teachers have been named recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. President Barack Obama named math teacher Yannabah Lewis of Kailua-Kona and science teacher John Constantinou of Keaau on Monday along with 101 other teachers from across the country.

According to a White House news release, the educators will receive their awards in Washington later this year. Lewis, Constantinou and the other recipients will receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also receive an expenses-paid trip to Washington for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events.

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.