Five Bows make All-WAC team - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Five Bows make All-WAC team

Mike Trapasso Mike Trapasso

By Mike Cherry - bio | email

MESA, AZ (HawaiiNewsNow) - The 2010 All-WAC baseball teams were announced with the University of Hawaii placing four players, Greg Garcia, Lenny Linsky, Jeffrey Van Doornum and Kolten Wong, on the first team and one, Josh Slaats, on the second team.

The Rainbows tie WAC regular season champion Fresno State for the most players on the all-WAC first team with four.

Garcia turned it on during WAC play, batting .413 with 21 RBI, 15 runs, two doubles, two triples, a home run and three stolen bases. The junior was a second-team all-WAC honoree in each of his first two seasons with the 'Bows. 

Linsky was one of the top closers in the country all season, posting 11 saves and a 1.57 ERA overall. In WAC play, the sophomore was 2-0 with four saves in 10 appearances, holding an ERA of 2.08.

Van Doornum powered the Rainbows during WAC play, batting .383 with nine home runs, three doubles, 21 RBI, 28 runs and four stolen bases. It is the junior's first all-WAC honor.

Wong did it all for UH, batting .360 with nine stolen bases, 20 runs, 13 RBI, six doubles, two triples and a home run in WAC play. The sophomore was also first-team all-WAC in 2009.

Slaats earns his first all-WAC honor, leading the UH staff with a 5-3 record and a 3.38 ERA overall, striking out 66 in 64.0 innings.

Fresno State's Jordan Ribera was named the WAC Player of the Year with Nevada's Brock Stassi earning Pitcher of the Year honors. San Jose State's Zack Jones was named the Freshman of the Year while Fresno State's Mike Batesole won Coach of the Year honors.

Copyright 2010 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly